...Health info at your doorstep

UI defeats OAU at this Year’s Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi (PANS) Debate

In 1962 the Department of Pharmacy was founded within the Faculty of Science in the then University of Ife, now Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife. It is the premier institution to provide pharmacy education in Nigeria.

And so a very large percent of Nigerian pharmacists working in the country and abroad are graduates of this University. With the demand of this noble profession coupled with perception of its tremendous contribution to society, the department was upgraded to a full-fledged Faculty in 1969, with four main departments: Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Pharmacology, Pharmacognosy, and Pharmaceutics.

UI defeats OAU at this Year’s Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi (PANS) Debate UI defeats OAU at this Year’s Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi (PANS) Debate UI defeats OAU at this Year’s Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi (PANS) Debate UI defeats OAU at this Year’s Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi (PANS) DebateAnd just on the 4th of March, 2017 the Faculty was home to the 3rd Annual Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi Debate Competition which was instituted in 2014; the event held at its new pharmacy complex. The contestants coming from the host University and only one guest institution, University of Ibadan (because most of others were not in session) under the auspices of Pharmaceutical Association of Nigeria Students (PANS) were confronted with such topical issues as:

“NHIS: A Worthwhile Endeavour in the Expansion of Access to Quality Health Care?”

“Nigeria’s Macroeconomic Policy: A Vital Tool in the Quest for Self-Sustenance in the Mainstream Sector”

“Brain Drain in Developing Countries: A Form of Neo-Colonialistic Exploitation or the Inevitable Price of Inadequacy?”

The students from both institutions truly gave a good account of themselves as they thoroughly dealt with every topic. And at the end of ‘hostilities’ the guest University – university of Ibadan carried the day as the panel of judges felt they had impressed them enough to cart away the winning prize. The panel of judges was made up of – Prof. Adebayo Lamikanra, Department of pharmaceutics; Dr. Oluwole Adeyemi, Faculty Students Officer; and Mr. Ayomipo Adegeye, junior trainee Fellow, OAU Faculty of Pharmacy.

The students of University of Ibadan were impressive in a very tight race with a winning point of 213, while the hosts and long-standing champions of the competition, Obafemi Awolowo University, scored 202 points. Also, a Part One student of OAU, Mercy Obadiora, won the award for the ‘Best Supporting Speaker’, while Kazeem Folarin, a Part four student representing UI got the award for the ‘Best Chief Speaker’.

Professor Lamikanra, a Professor of Pharmaceutics, who was one of the panelists explained to the audience the criteria used in selecting the winner of the contest. These included manners of presentation, points developed, and dress code.

The Dean of the Faculty of Pharmacy, OAU, represented by Dr. O.I Adeyemi, in his address commended the contestants for putting up a good showing, and thus setting a good example for incoming  Pharmacy students. He also appreciated Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi, for initiating this laudable project, and also for his consistency in the supply of the ‘educative’ Pharmanews monthly publication to the Faculty.

On his part, Sir Ifeanyi Atueyi, the Managing director of Pharmanews Limited, praised and thanked the students and particularly the Pharmaceutical Association of Nigeria Students (PANS) for the honour done him. Also, in an interactive session with students and academicians, he elaborated on the concept of Pharmaceutical Journalism.

The representatives of University of Ibadan were made up of: Khadeejah Babalola (300 level), Aliu Raji (300 level), Kazeem Folarin (400 level), and Temiwunmi Akinmuleya, while the OAU team comprised of Mercy Obadiora, Rhoda Bepo and Ahmad Akande, all 100 level students of the Faculty. The University of Ibadan by tradition is expected to host the next edition of the competition as winning institutions are obliged so to do.

PANS Editorial


Comment Here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.